Books I've Read & Places I've Loved: December 2018

Happy end of 2018! I know I don’t speak for everyone when I say this, but I had a really good time this year. Despite the awful things that happened, so much good in humanity was revealed. On a personal level, I tried many new things and had more successes than I thought were possible. This month in particular I finished my first quarter of college, which while being harder than I originally thought, was a wonderful way for me to fine tune what I want to do with my life. Upon coming home for the holidays, I was able to read a book and go to a few nice places (not all of which are pictured here due to a lack of pictures… haha).

BOOKS I’VE READ

51XxZ8atFsL.jpg

Manuscript for Murder by Jon Land (or Jessica Fletcher ;-))
This book was certainly interesting to read. I love Murder, She Wrote, and I love mysteries in general, so when I saw this in a bookstore I figured it would the perfect easy read for after finals. It was, and while it wasn’t what I thought it would be like, I’m glad I had it. The mystery is interesting, the ending isn’t super predictable, and there’s Jessica Fletcher. Parts a little cringy, but overall I had a good time reading it. If you want something easy to read with familiar characters, I’d pick this up.

I recommend this book for: Fans of Murder, She Wrote who aren’t opposed to fan fiction and who need something fairly mindless to read.
I’d skip this one if: You don’t like Murder, She Wrote, or you do but you don’t want the slightly cringy moments that inevitably arrive when a different author tries to capture well-loved characters.

PLACES I’VE LOVED

48423514_1238812399619212_8032182846086971392_n.jpg

Mendocino, CA
Yup, I went back! I’ve gone to Mendocino once a year since 2015, and the last three times have been with my mom. Originally we were trying to go over the summer, but when that didn’t happen we knew that in order to keep our tradition we’d have to squeeze it in during one of my trips home from college. Since I was only home for a week, it didn’t happen over Thanksgiving, so we managed to fit it in during the last few days of the year. Our tradition is still going strong! I loved returning to Mendocino, even though it was super windy. My mom and I walked through the town, said hello to Jessica Fletcher’s house (see book above), and ate lunch at one of the best places I’ve eaten in a while (the gluten-free bread was fantastic). Returning to Mendocino is always a little bit nostalgic for me, and since I’m already feeling extra nostalgic at the end of the year, this was the perfect time for us to return.


This December marks the second full year of being recapping my month in this format. I recently went back to Books I’ve Read & Places I’ve Loved: December 2016, and I was once again greeted with how much can change in two years. What I’ve come to learn, especially in the last year, is that nothing truly great comes from your comfort zone. In 2019 I am challenging myself to leave beyond my comfort zone, even if it’s just a inch further. I have a lot going on in January, and some of it is pretty scary. But hopefully, as long as I stay that inch beyond, I’ll run into February with some new stories to tell.

In this new year, I hope all of you do what is best for you. I hope you remember that you know yourself. I hope you breathe, and sing, and run, and dance, and laugh. I hope you remember the good things and put more good out there into a world that so desperately needs it. I hope this last day of 2018 is everything you hope it will be, and here’s to 2019- may it be a year we look back on with happiness.